THE GOOD LIFE: The Value of Friendship, Part 6 in a Series

Standard

Message Recap | 08.24.2014
Speaker: Aaron Taylor, Lead Pastor

From as far back as when I was 8 or 9 years old, music was a big part of my life.  We listened to the transistor radio every day.  We would sometimes get together with my cousins and listen to the sounds of the late 50s and 60s on our record player.  We sang and did “karaoke” even before it was cool.  We played so many records you might have thought we would wear them out.  One of the songs that would make my all-time favorite list would be “You’ve Got a Friend” by James Taylor.  A song written by Carole King and recorded by James Taylor in 1971 really defined friendship to me.  I guess maybe the reason this song would make my all-time favorite list is because friends have always been important to me.

What is a friend?  Somebody who’s there for you and someone that you can count on.  The chorus of “You’ve God a Friend” says just that.

You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am,
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or fall, all you have to do is call and I’ll be there, yeah, yeah,
You’ve got a friend.

King Solomon understood the importance of having a good friend.  Solomon writes in Ecclesiastes Chapter 4 that two are better than one. He continues that the reason is because they have good reward for their effort because as one falls, the other is there to pick them up and vice versa.  He continues to say that though someone might prevail against a man who is alone, that he won’t be as successful against two.  And against three, “a threefold cord is not quickly broken.” (Read Ecclesiastes 4:8-12)

When we are alone in anything, we find ourselves unsatisfied.  Mother Theresa even said, “Loneliness and the feeling of being unwanted is the most terrible type of poverty.”  If our efforts are simply to pursue life’s work, wealth, and success, then as King Solomon said, “It is all so meaningless and depressing.”

But take notice, King Solomon wants us to understand that Friendship is a good investment.  He used the words “good return.”  In other words, dividends paid on a wise investment.  Let me tell you, the very best investment you will ever make in life will not be a financial one, but rather the investment made in relationships.

If you want to learn more about the Value of Friendship and the benefits to investing in the right relationships, listen to our podcast at http://painesvilleag.com/good-life for the complete message.

Friend, life can be a very difficult journey and we were never meant to walk or live this life alone.  Investing in good friendships provide great benefits and can make life truly good.  And the best friendship you can invest in is one with a friend who is constant, faithful, powerful, and everlasting.  That friend’s name is Jesus.  Listen, the only way we truly strengthen our relationships and friendships is to invite Jesus into our lives and follow His example.  This week ask yourself these questions, “Do I need to reinvest in good friendships?  Do I have current friendships that are not really healthy or leading me toward Jesus? Is Jesus at the center of my friendships and my life?  Do I need Jesus?”  Have a great week. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

