Overwhelmed

Standard

Message Recap | 09.21.2014

Speaker: Aaron Taylor, Lead Pastor

It seems my life is filled with things to do. It never ceases to amaze me, no matter how hard I try; the “to-do’s” keep piling up. The harder I try the more behind I get. Is this true with your life? Sometimes I feel overwhelmed.

I have learned that I need to keep a priority list just to feel I’m making some ground. But I also have learned that me and a priority list will not solve anything. You see, this is one of the areas of my life that I need supernatural and divine help.

There have been times, especially within the last year that my work load has overwhelmed me. Have you ever gotten to the point that you have so much that needs to be done, the thought freezes you and you find yourself staring into space? Is there anyone else out there that has done the same? Anonymous once said, “Ever notice that even the busiest people are never too busy to tell you just how busy they are?”

That’s what I want us to look at today. We’re going to look at a story about a king in the Old Testament who was a good guy. But he had a strange name. His name was Jehoshaphat. The Bible tells us that he actually was a very good leader in Israel and he led the entire nation to a rebirth of spiritually. There was a renewal of spirit. There was a spiritual revival. In fact the Bible says in 1 Chronicles 19:4 (NIV): “Jehoshaphat lived in Jerusalem, and he went out again among the people from Beersheba to the hill country of Ephraim and turned them back to the Lord, the God of their ancestors.” 

Jehoshaphat went out to all the little towns, not just the big cities. He didn’t just stay in the popular hot spots. He went to where real people lived in this nation and he hung out with real people; the common folk. He influenced them to turn back to the Lord. It was a big success. There was a spiritual revival in this nation.

But whatever happens, good is often followed by something bad. With every mountaintop high there’s a valley low. With every success there’s always the letdown. There’s the day after you win the Superbowl. There’s the day after Christmas. With every blessing in your life, after every blessing always comes a testing.

And particularly if you have a spiritual moment in your life where you go, I’m getting my life lined up with God. I’m going to go with God. I’m going to do the right thing. I’m really going to let God help me get my act together. Somebody’s not going to like that. They’re going to get mad at you. The friend of God is the enemy of Satan. And anytime you try to do good, evil is going to try to stop you.

Our story picks up in the book of 2 Chronicles, Chapter 20. After this great Spiritual Awakening, three enemies gang up on Israel and declare war. This is overwhelming news! Have you ever felt like problems often hit you on the same day? You seem to be getting hit from every angle. It seems like everything goes wrong in day or a week or a month, and you feel overwhelmed. This is what King Jehoshaphat had. Things were going good in his nation and all of a sudden he hears three enemy nations have joined together. They’ve ganged up against him and they’re on the warpath to destroy him and the nation he leads. That’s overwhelming.

If you want to learn more about conquering the feeling of being Overwhelmed, listen to our podcast at http://painesvilleag.com/good-life for the complete message.

Friend, if we let our circumstances take control of our lives, we will feel overwhelmed. I don’t know what’s overwhelming you today. But this week spend some time in prayer and turn to God! Focus on God! Admit your inability to do on your own and thank God in advance! If you do, you too will experience the blessings of victory, joy, peace, and security!

 

Leave a Reply

