My Story: A Story of Provision

Standard

Message Recap | 11.16.2014
Speaker: Aaron Taylor, Lead Pastor

Have you ever been in a desperate situation and you were not sure how you were going to get through?  Have you been in a place of great need and loneliness and you were desperate for someone to come and help?  Well, I have.  I found myself homeless and about to live in my car.  I had lost everything; my home, my security, my children, and even lost my self-worth.  But God had a different plan and sent a man to me to offer me a place to live.  God provided what I needed the most; a place where He could start.  God provided a place I could call home.  A place where I could have my children visit.  A place where God began His work in my life.

Today, it’s not about me and my story.  As we continue our series, My Story, we are going to hear about a powerful Story of Provision.  Here is Jen’s Story!

Jen’s story is a powerful journey where Jesus came alongside her at a time when she was alone with three children and very little else.  God took Jen on a journey where He provided her with salvation, with a church family to love and assist her, with a new home, new job, and a fresh start.  Jen placed her full trust in Jesus and found that He was her provider.  That is the focus of today’s blog.

Our story takes us to a familiar passage in Scripture.  We begin in the book of Mark, Chapter 6.  “The apostles gathered around Jesus and reported to him all they had done and taught.  Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”  So they went away by themselves in a boat to a solitary place.” (Mark 6:30-32 NIV)

There are things that Jesus provides and some of them are noted here in this Scripture passage.  Did you see them?  Jesus provides rest, truth, healing, and practical needs.  But what is our part?

If you want to learn more about the Story of Provision as found in Jen’s Story and the Word of God, listen to our podcast at http://painesvilleag.com/story for the complete message.

Friend, Jesus is our provider.  Jesus can and will provide for our physical needs, but the truth is, our needs go beyond just the physical. It was the spiritual need that Jesus comes first and foremost to meet.  This week, spend some time in quiet meditation.  Ask yourself this, “Do I need rest from the worries and cares of this world?”  “Am I carrying burdens and feel overwhelmed?”  “Do I need to know the truth?”  “Am I in need of healing?”  “Is there some practical need that is weighing me down?”  Then go to Jesus in prayer.  Listen for His voice.  Allow for Him to be your provider.

I end with this from a source unknown:

“Empty hands I lifted to Him and He filled them with a store
Of His own transcendent riches till my hands could hold no more.
And at last I comprehended, with my mind so slow and dull
That God could not pour His riches into hands already full.”

Leave a Reply

