Not Such A Wonderful Life: The Benefits of ‘God With Us’

Standard

Message Recap | 12.28.2014
Speaker: Aaron Taylor, Lead Pastor

In looking back at my life, there was a time when I didn’t know what was in store for me.  I had to leave a home that I virtually put my entire life into and I had to leave children that I loved so much.  Yeah, that is what happens when husbands and wives are separated or divorced.  I remember seeing the kids waving goodbye to me the day I had to leave.  I remember feeling so empty, so unloved.  I remember wondering, “Now what?”  I had to lose everything before I could see the light.  That light was Jesus.  Even though I lost everything I held dear, there was hope in the presence of Jesus.  It took a little while for me to understand that.  On that fateful day when I had to leave my home, I had to go live with my brother.  I was now an intruder to their home.  Though my brother and sister-in-law loved and supported me, I knew it would be temporary.  You see, thinking about the future can bring both excitement or dread depending on the current situation.  It is the same when thinking about the end of one year into the next.  Just because we enter a New Year does not mean the problems and emotions of the previous year go away.

But I want to encourage you with truth from God’s Word that, no matter what lies ahead, there is hope for us!  What is this hope?  I think if we look at another name given to Jesus when thinking about the Christmas season we will see the hope we have to face the future.  In Matthew 1.23 it says: “The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel” (which means “God with us”).  God with us!  What a powerful name that comes with a promise.

But what does this mean for us and how does this help us?  If you want to learn more about the “Benefits of God With Us” and the hope that comes with it, listen to our podcast at http://painesvilleag.com/notsuchawonderfullife  for the complete message.

Friend, ‘God With Us’ means that we do not have to fear the uncertainty of a New Year, rather we can have confidence that God will lead us to the truth and provide what we need.  If we will accept Jesus’ invitation to follow Him, we will see that our lives are valuable and that Jesus gives us meaning and purpose.  If we receive Immanuel, we will find strength to face whatever the future holds.  Life can be wonderful, but only if we receive Jesus and allow Him to lead us!  Will you receive the Hope and Presence He offers?

Lead Blogger,
George Leonhardt

Leave a Reply

