TEXT Series: 2G2BT (Too Good To Be True)

Standard

Message Recap | 1.18.2015
Speaker: Aaron Taylor, Lead Pastor

I remember the day I was saved and the instruction I received from the man who prayed with me to accept Jesus as my personal Savior.  His name was Mark and he had some very detailed instructions for me after the church service.  Mark said to me, “Do you have your own Bible?”  I answered that I did not.  Mark said, “They sell them very cheap at the Christian Book Store.  Why don’t you go see Harold and ask him to show you the Bibles?  Tell him you just got saved and you need your very first Bible.  I’m sure he will be happy to give you some direction.”  So that is exactly what I did, as soon as I was able.  I met Harold and he certainly was happy that I made the choice to serve Jesus.  And he showed me some very good Bibles.  My first Bible was an NIV Study Bible.  I was thrilled.  As soon as I could, I opened the pages and fell in love with God’s Word.  It was all so new to me; the first book I read was the Gospel of John.  Harold recommended that to me as a new believer.  It was filled with so much love.

That’s what happened to me, but over the years I have found that there are people who don’t believe that the Bible is truth yet they’ve never read it.  Then there are those who have grown up around the Bible, say they have a lot of respect for it, believe in God and believe something about Jesus, but they too, have never read it.  Some say that the Bible is a confusing book.  The truth is, it’s actually not a book. It’s not written chronologically, it has a lot of different authors, it was written over a long period of time, and so it can be very confusing.  In fact, it’s more like a compilation of books… it’s a library.

So, what exactly is the Bible?  If you want to know the answer to this question and learn more, listen to our podcast at http://painesvilleag.com/textseries for the complete message.

Friend, I encourage you to spend time understanding where the Bible came from and how it has been preserved.  You may not believe it is true, but here’s what I know is true…Your life will change if you adhere to the principles and teachings of the Bible.  You may not believe it is true, but your family will be better; if you apply the teachings and principles of Jesus, our country would be in a better place morally and financially if we take seriously the teachings and the principles of Jesus. You may not believe it is true, but you should read it because you may be surprised at what you find.  This week, get a hold of the Bible and begin reading.  Set aside some time each day to do this.  It will only take a few minutes.  Let’s make reading God’s Text a priority.

Lead Blogger,
George Leonhardt

Extras from this sermon…

TEXT Series_Books of the Bible TEXT Series_Chronological Chart

Leave a Reply

