TRANSFORMED: Setting Personal Goals By Faith

Standard

Message Recap | 2.1.2015
Speaker: Aaron Taylor, Lead Pastor

I don’t like change.  It’s one of those things that can upset my whole day.  I have specific routines that I go through each morning so that I don’t forget what I believe to be important day starters.  Routines would indicate to you just how much I don’t like change. The first three or four hours of my day are the same things I do each and every day. Some of my routines include taking care of myself spiritually and medically. This includes time in prayer and setting myself up for a healthy day.  The rest of those hours are what I accomplish at work at the beginning of the day, certain company reports that need to be distributed and sometimes even an early morning meeting.  But when it’s all said and done, I think that we all need a little change in our lives. Change helps us fight off complacency, which is especially dangerous for me because I would tend to be slack in some very important undertakings.

Whether it’s in discipline, faith, finances or relationships, making changes can often seem impossible. But all change starts with a simple step. In our new series, Transformed, we will talk about what needs to happen in order for us to change so we can experience the joy that comes with that change.

Our theme verse for this series is going to be Romans 12:2 and it is going to be our memory verse for this week.  Romans 12:2 (NIV): “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—His good, pleasing and perfect will.” The word “transformed” is used one time in all the gospels, namely, about Jesus on the mountain of transfiguration (the mountain of “transformation” — same word, metemorphõthë where we get our word “metamorphosis” from): “And he was transfigured before them, and his face shone like the sun, and his clothes became white as light” (Matthew 17:2; Mark 9:2).

I think a key word in this verse is pattern.  What pattern are we following?  A pattern can also be a template.  Maybe you have used the word template in your workplace. When you think about the best way to live your life, whether that be in the spiritual sense, physical, emotional, relational, financial, mental, or vocational, what pattern or template are you  basing your life decisions after?  Are you a goal setter?  Do you enjoy setting goals and watching them come to pass?  Or are you discouraged when the goals you set don’t seem to come to fruition?

During the next seven weeks we’re going to take a look at seven key areas of your life and the changes you need to make, will want to make, and can make because of God’s power in your life.

If you want to know more about the seven key areas of your life, where change can raise your potential, increase your possibilities, and enhance your future, listen to our podcast at http://painesvilleag.com/transformed for the complete message.

Friend, this series will be fun, but more importantly, it’s going to transform your life.  I challenge you this week to set aside some time over the next seven weeks and travel on this journey with us.  If you do, I am sure that you will not be the same person seven weeks later.  I am sure that you will be TRANSFORMED.

Lead Blogger,
George Leonhardt

Leave a Reply

