TRANSFORMED: Part 1 – Spiritual Health

Standard

Message Recap | 2.8.2015
Speaker: Aaron Taylor, Lead Pastor

Did you know that the way you think determines the way you feel and the way you feel determines the way you act?  Really, it’s true.  I am a freeze baby.  I am always cold and prefer warm weather.  Even HOT weather over cold.  And by being a “freeze baby”, I often tell everybody just how cold I feel.  Or should I say I do a lot of complaining on how cold I feel.  My mom used to tell me as a boy, “If you keep talking about being cold, you’ll only feel colder.”  I found that out to be true as well.  So when I start complaining about how cold it is, I go for the blankets, comforters, sweaters, and portable heater when I’m inside the house and when going outside the heavy coat, hoodie, gloves, and wool hat to beat the cold.  That’s how it is in Ohio in the winter.  But if I wanted to change living in Ohio I wouldn’t start with my actions.  I wouldn’t even start with my feelings.  I’d start with my thoughts.

It’s like this.  If you’re acting sad or depressed, it’s because you feel sad or depressed.  And if you’re feeling sad or depressed, it’s because you’re thinking sad or depressing thoughts.  The key to transformation starts not in your actions, not in your behavior, not in your body.  It doesn’t even start with your will.  It starts with your thoughts.  And if you can change the way you think that’ll change the way you feel.  And if you change the way you feel that will change the way you act.

Our verse, which is our theme verse for the next 7 weeks is, Romans 12:2 (NIV): “Do not conform to the pattern of this world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”

We’re going to take that Romans 12:2 principle, and apply it to all seven key areas of your life – relational, physical, mental, spiritual, emotional, financial, vocational.  We’re going to look at all seven major areas of your life and ask the question: “How do I change the way I think about this so that I feel about it differently?”  Then if I feel differently it’s going to change the way I act and the way I respond to other people.  And that’s called transformation.

Transformation changes us from emptiness to fullness.  Transformation changes us from defeat and failure to faith and victory.  Transformation changes us from insecurity and inferiority to courage and to boldness.  It helps us to become all that God wants us to be.

The further away we get from God the more trouble we’re going to have in our lives.  The more trials, the more difficulties, the more stress, the more things are going to go wrong because we’re not cooperating with our Creator.  It’s what happens when we’re not following God’s plan for our lives.  The further I get away from God, the more trouble I’m going to have in my life.

The pathway back to spiritual transformation is a journey composed of two stages.  The first stage begins with these questions.  Are you fed up with where you are in life?  Are you fed up with your circumstances?  Are you desperate and hungry?  Are you anxious for a change?  Stage two asks this.  Are you holding on to the controls?  Are you living your own way?  Can you face up to living God’s way?

If you want to transform your Spiritual Health and follow God’s plan for your life, check out our podcast at http://painesvilleag.com/transformed for the complete message.

Friend, do you need to come closer to God?  Are you away from God, separated from God by your sin?  Have you thought about asking God to forgive you of your sin?  Today, will you begin by saying, I’m fed up, I own up, and I offer up my life to you Lord.  If you will take that step, God will begin a transforming work in your life and you will be able to lift up praise and thanks and have a new song to sing!  A song of freedom, joy and life!  Will you allow the Lord to transform you today?

Lead Blogger,
George Leonhardt

Leave a Reply

