TRANSFORMED: Part 3 – Mental Health

Standard

Message Recap | 2.22.2015

Speaker: Aaron Taylor, Lead Pastor

I have to share something with you. When I was saved, my mind was messed up. I lived for the world and not for Christ. There were thoughts and memories that were painful, full of sorrow and suffering. Yet I lived with them because I thought that was how everyone lived. The saying was, “Just get over it.” And I thought I could do just that. I felt that at the worst, I would carry some of the baggage of pain and sorrow until it just didn’t matter any longer. I could live with that. The rest of it, I would get over. I guess I don’t have to tell you that it didn’t work. The memories and thoughts of pain, sorrow, grief, and sickness didn’t go away. My mind remained messed up. It got so bad that the only thing between life and death was Jesus. Praise the Lord I chose life!

Let me sum up what I want to say this weekend in one sentence: God is far more interested in changing your mind than in changing your circumstances. We want God to change our circumstances. We want him to take away all of the problems, all of the pain, all the sorrow, all the suffering, all the sickness, all the sadness. And God says, yeah, I know that’s important but really more important than that is what’s happening in you. I’m far more interested in changing your mind before we change your circumstance, because nothing happens in your life until you get to the renewing of your mind. No transformation takes place, no change takes place in your mind or in your life until your thoughts begin to change.

Why was it so important that I learn how to change my mind? Why is it important that I manage my thought life? Because my thoughts control my life, the mind is the battleground for sin, and because managing my mind is the key to peace and happiness.

If you want to know more about Transformed Part 3 – Mental Health and why it is important to have a healthy mind, listen to our podcast at http://painesvilleag.com/transformed for the complete message.

Friend, we need to feed our minds on truth every day. We need to free our minds from destructive thoughts. We can choose not to think them by changing the way we think. We can then focus our minds on the right thing. When we’re focused on the right thing, we don’t have time to pay attention to the wrong thing. This week, take some time to really meditate on what things are coming into your mind. Think about Jesus, think about others, and think about eternity. Have you heard this old canard “He’s so heavenly minded he’s no earthly good.” The problem is the opposite: We’re so earthly minded we’re no heavenly good. Colossians 3:2 (NLT) says, “Let heaven fill your thoughts. Do not think only about things down here on earth.”

Leave a Reply

