Discerning the Times: Sign of Your Coming

Standard

Everyone’s life tells a story.  We’re all different and each of us has a story that is unique to us.  Even if your life is closely developed by a sibling or a parent, your life is different from theirs.  Some lives are lived in an atmosphere of love and support while others may have had to endure a life filled with sorrow and heartache.  My life story was a little bit of both.

Without a lot of details here in this writing, the change in my life came when my life was ending.  The Bible talks about the return of Jesus Christ.  In the 216 chapters of the New Testament, there are over 300 references of the return of Christ.  His second coming.  My story starts with the first coming of Christ in my life.  The Bible says that Jesus and His disciples were curious about the end times.  As they walked through Jerusalem, the disciples remarked how beautiful the city was especially the Temple.  It represented so much of who they were.  Jesus responds to them in Matthew 24:2 by saying, Do you see all these things?” he asked. “Truly I tell you, not one stone here will be left on another; every one will be thrown down.”   This is where I’ll begin.

My life was filled with a lot of great things of this world.  I looked at them all as being beautiful in their own way.  I was successful by the world’s standard.  I was responsible for my own life and I built it up the way I thought was right.  This lasted for quite a few years.  But over time, what I thought was beautiful began to crumble.  My family, my children did not know who I was.  My successful business began to fail.  What I thought was beautiful became ugly.  I was in the midst of complete destruction.  All stones were thrown down.  My temple was destroyed.  Was this a sign of the coming?  Was this a sign of my end times?

In fact it was.  Only my Heavenly Father knew exactly when Jesus would come to me personally.  I was at a point of choosing death or life.  I had a gun and I had a means.  I was in the midst of wars and disasters.  People around me were deceitful and gave me false hope.  I was being ridiculed and scorned from what seemed to be every angle possible.  And the worse it got, the worse I behaved.  I was evil and that was the only way I knew how to fight back.  Then Jesus stepped in.  I was touched by His Word and His truth and I gave my life up for a new life in Christ.  And now I’m sharing my faith and His hope with others.

Friend, I learned that I have only a short time to live.  I learned that I can either live for Christ or be against Him.  I chose life in Christ.  And you can too.  Are you ready for Jesus?  Do the things of this world, like wars and disasters and persecution, rule your thoughts?  I challenge you to listen to a powerful message entitled, Discerning the Times: Sign of Your Coming.  You can find it by going to http://painesvilleag.com/discerning-the-times.

Lead Blogger,
George Leonhardt

Leave a Reply

