Discerning the Times: Living and Dying with Hope

Standard

A number of years ago, I was a licensed realtor.  It was something that I thought I could do and thought that it might help us by adding to our income.  The amount of work involved to prepare to take the state real estate license exam was enormous.  The study would have to be on top of an already busy lifestyle and it would involve 12 weekends of classroom study on top of my 40+ hour regular job.  But I stepped up to the challenge.  What I quickly learned, but didn’t realize, was that the world of personal business was not what I expected.

The business world can be brutal.  It’s truly the survival of the fittest.  I needed to know more than my colleagues or at least attempt to know more because we were all competing for the same rewards.  There are only so many houses to sell and we wanted them all.  My hope was left in my own abilities and in the business world that might not be enough.  There were the “tricks of the trade” to learn.  I remember times when no matter what I did, it wasn’t enough.  It could be pretty discouraging.  Then Jesus stepped into my life and changed all that.  I now had “Believer’s Hope.”  I now could look at my situations more clearly.  What stressed me out when contracting to sell or purchase homes, became less stressful.  My new hope had lit a fire within me that no matter if I was rewarded the contract or not, I still had victory.

My life in Christ has not always been a steady road from one blessing to the next.  In fact, my life in Christ has challenged me so much more than taking a state real estate license exam.  I’ve learned to live each moment of time in the hand of the Lord.  I’ve also learned to demonstrate that Jesus is alive in me so that the lost world may get a glimpse of Him through His undeserving grace in me.  Though the business world may be brutal, a life with Jesus Christ is a blessing that no one can exceed.  No matter what I face, when I walk with Jesus, the world is under my feet.

Friend, we have reason to celebrate the hope that is in us as believers.  We no longer need to worry about what the world throws at us.  Better yet, we don’t have to even worry about death.  The Bible says, “We are confident, yes, well pleased rather to be absent from the body and to be present with the Lord.” (2 Corinthians 5:8 NKJV)  Hallelujah!  Death is the beginning of life and the gateway into the presence of the Lord.  We also have hope in Jesus’ return.  He promised in His Word.  (Read 1 Thessalonians 4:16-17) Finally, we have hope in our daily living.  Remember what I said about the world out there?  I called it the survival of the fittest.  But when living with Jesus, we are not of this world, rather citizens of Heaven. We’re just “passing through.” Thanks be to God we have hope as we live in anticipation of the return of Jesus.

A lot has gone on in my life but my greatest victory came the day I called Jesus my Lord.  My hope is in Him.  If you want to hear a powerful and life changing message from Pastor Aaron Taylor, I challenge you to listen to, Discerning the Times: Living and Dying with Hope.  You can find it by going to http://painesvilleag.com/discerning-the-times.

Lead Blogger,
George Leonhardt

Leave a Reply

