Discerning the Times: What Does the Future Hold?

Standard

One of the most regretful and painful days in my life happened at my workplace.  I had been assigned to write a report on “Why people behave the way they do”.  That’s a pretty broad subject, but I was given the assignment based on a couple of things: 1. My writing skills and 2. My availability.  I knew that the task was going to be difficult in that I would be looking at personnel behaviors and determining why things happened.  There are some privacy issues with this task so please excuse my being vague.  I knew the report would be many pages and that it would have to be judged by a board of leaders.  I worked diligently on the report for many weeks.  The report turned out to be over 180 pages in length.  It took me over 60 days to write it, but I completed it on time and presented the report to the board for their approval.

The chairman of this board walked the other leaders through the understanding of the issues, section by section.  Questions from the leadership team were posed to me and I believed that I answered all of them accurately and with confidence.  Out of nowhere came condemnation from the chairman.  I was chastised in front of the leaders on the way I was sitting at the presentation table.  My writing ability was criticized and I was left to feel completely defeated.  No one defended me.  I was given a choice.  I was told to re-write the report within the next 24 hours or the chairman would find someone to write it for me.  What choice did I really have?  Over the next 16 hours I re-wrote the report.

I share this with you so that you might understand that the world will judge you.  We will be subjected to critical judgement that may affect our mental and psychological well-being.  I know the harsh judgement I received deeply affected me.  It took many months for me to set this aside and move on.  Only by the grace of God have I moved forward.  I am not judged by any world standard.  I am reminded what God’s Word says in 2 Corinthians 5:9-10, “Therefore we make it our aim, whether present or absent, to be well pleasing to Him. For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.” 

As believers, we will be judged at the Judgement Seat of Christ.  1 Thessalonians 4:16-17 says this, “For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord.”  Hallelujah!  It’s after this event we shall be in the presence of God.  It is then we shall be judged according to what we have done. We will have an advocate!  This is the believer’s judgement.  The verdict will be innocent and the rewards will be glorious.

But there are two judgments that the Bible talks about.  The Judgement Seat of Christ and the Great White Throne Judgement.  The latter being for non-believers.  Discussion on that matter will be at a later time.  Friend, for believer’s and children of God, the rewards will be many.  We will be given Crowns and we will be in the eternal presence of God (Revelation 21:3, Matthew 7:13-14).  God will establish a new Heaven and a new Earth where you will never suffer again. (Revelation 21:4-5)

I learned a lot that fateful day from the judgement of man.  I learned it was painful and condemning.  I learned that man and the world will tear you down and break you.  But that’s not for me.  My faith and hope is in Jesus Christ and I look forward to His judgment where I will be found “not guilty” and be given a glorious reward for the work He has called me to do.  If you want to hear a powerful and life changing message from Pastor Aaron Taylor, I challenge you to listen to, Discerning the Times: What Does the Future Hold?  You can find it by going to http://painesvilleag.com/discerning-the-times.

Lead Blogger,
George Leonhardt

Leave a Reply

