Obeying the Call of God

Standard

Over the past few weeks we have been talking about how God can do the impossible in each of our lives. We have also talked about how we need to be faithful even when it feels like God is silent. This week, we are taking another turn. Instead of focusing on waiting for the impossible to come, we are going to look at what we do when the impossible DOES comes.

We have all had those times when we finally get something that we have been waiting for. Maybe it’s something you have been praying about for a really long time. Maybe it is just an unexpected blessing from God. Either way, it’s usually something good that takes us from the sea of comfort and into the great abyss of the unknown. We hoped that this day would come. We long for God to use us in ways that are immeasurable, but when He finally trusts us our initial response isn’t always the best.

What do I mean by that? Sometimes we shy away because we think we aren’t good enough for the job. Sometimes we just “humble it off” onto someone else and say “why should I be the one to do such a big task? Let this person do it, they deserve it more.” Even though this is something that you have been praying to happen for a very long time.

Here is a personal example from my own life…

Over this past summer, the summer of 2015, I interned with Pastor Carrie Garland. Before starting the internship, and even during the internship, I asked that God would use me. I wanted to be used in great ways, not for my sake, but for the Glory of God. During the first month (June) we had our Annual Mega Sports Camp Outreach. I was at work the Saturday before when I received a phone call from Pastor Steve asking me to be the assistant head coach for the cheerleading team. He asked if I would lead the sessions on the last day because the head coach was going to be out of town due to prior commitments. I was already helping with the worship team for MSC, I wasn’t sure if it would be a good idea for me to add more responsibility on top of that. However, Pastor Steve had already talked to Pastor Carrie and Pastor Carrie thought it would be a great experience for me as part of my internship. So, I was already signed up for it.

Now, if you know me at all, you know that I am very uncoordinated and extremely clumsy, not to mention I have never done cheerleading in my life. I also was not much of a person to speak out in front of large groups, let alone lead 20-30 girls in a sport that I had not once attempted. However, there was no getting out of it.

The first few days of camp were not too bad, but I also had the head coach there to guide me through the different things (like teaching a big dance to the girls that they were to perform in front of the other teams and their parents during the closing rally on the last night). On the last night I was extremely nervous. I was the unofficial “head coach” of cheerleading. I had to lead the girls through a cheer and a dance in front of all their parents. If they looked bad, it was on me. The pressure was on.

Before the opening rally of the last evening, I prayed my heart out. I wasn’t exactly sure that I was really qualified to be in the position I was in. Not to mention, I have never done anything like this before in front of a huge crowd. However, once the night got started and I began to review the dance and cheers with the girls, things started to come naturally to me. Everything ran smoothly. At the closing rally the girls did a great job during the cheer and the dance looked awesome!

When everything was said and done, and Mega Sports Camp came to a conclusion, I took the night to think about how God appointed me to be in the position I was in during that week. It took me out of the unknown as well as my comfort zone. It also answered my prayer of God using me. I could have opted to not take on this frivolous task and potentially jeopardize my internship, but I took a deep breath and trusted God into the unknown. And what happened? He took my hand and led me step-by-step on what to do. Now, I am actually excited to be the head coach for cheerleading during Mega Sports Camp 2016!

You see friends, we are given these blessings, these answered prayers, these times where God is really planning on using us for the greater good, but we often are too caught up in what WE think they should be or when WE think they should happen.

It’s not about what WE want, it’s about what God is calling us to do and being obedient by doing it.

Do you struggle with this? Even after my experience last summer, I still struggle with it. But we are not the only ones. Check out Pastor Aaron’s sermon “Believe For The Greater Things: Believe Through Obedience” on Painesville Assembly of God’s podcast to see how Moses struggled with this same thing.

Believe For Greater Things…

God called Moses to be the deliverer for His people, yet Moses felt unqualified and felt God should raise another in his place. It’s sometimes hard to obey God when the “Greater Things” come our way, but God will never abandon those whom He’s called. Remember, be obedient to what Christ is giving to you, and He will continue to shower you with blessings and favor.

Jenny Bushnell,
College Student, Blogger, Writer

Leave a Reply

