Finding Courage

Standard

A few weeks ago, February 25, was the National Collegiate Day of Prayer. A few students at Malone University, the college I attend, were inspired to hold a prayer event in our chapel to allow students, staff, and people from the community to join in prayer. The purpose was to pray for revival across our campus, other college campuses, our nation, and even the whole world. They opened the chapel from 12pm- 12am and towards the evening started live worship. In the end, about 100 (give or take a few) students came to the prayer night seeking God.

I was one of those students. On that night, God gave me a vision that He wanted me to carry out. He wanted me to form a prayer walk across the entire campus of Malone and into the community of Canton that surrounds the campus… but God didn’t want me to stop there. He also wanted me to extend out into the communities that surround Canton. When I felt this laid on my heart I immediately spoke to the one who led the day of prayer. He told me that we were going to make it happen.

A few days went by and I still felt this tug that I needed to do a prayer walk on campus. I sat down with the leader of the missions group I am involved with (Ekballo) and we picked a date and went over a few logistics about what would specifically take place. I began to prepare for the event by making flyers, telling my friends, and making sure that each building on campus would be unlocked for us to go into and pray.

The day of the event came and I was excited, but I also started to question it. Things like: “Why did God give this vision to me out of all people?”, or “Is this really something God put on my heart”. I was soon reminded that it was a vision given to me by God. I was afraid no one would show up to do the walk with me. But as the advertising for the event began, more and more students started contacting me saying that they wanted to join me in the prayer walk.

We walked the whole campus. We prayed for each building and even walked up and down the halls of the residence halls. There were about eight of us altogether seeking God and asking Him to pour out His love on our campus. It was beautiful.

You see friends, we hear these things that God puts on our hearts and think, “how could I be able to do something like that?”  We question God when He calls us to do a particular task because we don’t think we are qualified to accomplish it. But let’s think about this for a minute… What if you were obedient and did what God called you to do? What if it were something small such as praying for someone you walked by, buying the coffee for the person behind you in line at Starbucks, or even just something as simple as saying ‘hello’ to someone? What if we took a step back, shut down the negative thoughts that make us feel unworthy of the task at hand, and did it for the Lord?

James, the brother of Jesus, says: “But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.” (James 1.22-25)

Brothers and sisters, we are told to be doers of the Word, not just hearers. Think of Rahab in the book of Joshua. She was a prostitute who had spies from the nation of Israel come to her. They accidently revealed themselves to her. When the King came looking for the spies, she hid them and told the king that they had left! Now she did lie, and that isn’t justified through her faith, but that’s exactly it friends… She heard that God was a supreme Father and she acted on it. She put her faith in Israel’s God. She knew that if she took in these spies and hid them from the king, basically risking her own life, that He would be faithful right back and spare her life. And sure enough He was! She took a scarlet cord, a reminder to us of the Passover, and immediately hung it out her window so that when the attack came, the Israelites knew that was the home who’s family they were to spare.

What if we had the same kind of faith that Rahab had? What if we heard what the Lord was telling us to do and we picked up our cross and followed Jesus, trusting that He is going to lead us into a land of milk and honey (into His promise)? What if we were doers of the word, and not just hearers?

Friends, I encourage you to listen to Pastor Aaron’s message: “Rahab’s Courage” on our podcast to learn more about Rahab’s story and the five factors of how we know God is in the “plan” that He sets before us.

Joshua

This week I challenge you to step out in obedient courage and do what God is calling you to do, even if it means making a sacrifice.

Jenny Bushnell,
PAG College Student, Blogger, Writer

Leave a Reply

