MIND LIKE A STEEL TRAP

Standard

Have you ever heard someone say, “I have a mind like a steel trap?”  I have heard that.  But when I think about it for a little while, I realize, “I have a mind like a steel trap except there’s one problem, my trap has lost all its teeth.”

Sometimes things just seem to slip my mind.  Our lives are so busy and we have so many things going on that we simply forget things.  I have a daily calendar on my phone.  I keep a daily calendar on my desk at work.  And I have a printed calendar hanging on our refrigerator just to keep track of upcoming plans.  I need the extra layers of protection to help me NOT forget.  Then I always have my wife, who realizes that the layers I’ve created didn’t help and she’ll remind me.  Thanks honey!

We have important events and dates that hopefully do not slip our minds.  Like birthdays, our wedding anniversary, and our daughter’s wedding anniversary.  But there is one other date that I will never forget and that was the day I submitted my life to the Lord Jesus and asked Him to forgive my sins and be the Lord of my life.

The Lord has been so incredibly good to me over my life.  Even the many years before I gave my life to Him.  I remember times when others had poured their wisdom and compassion into me when I didn’t make the best decisions.  I remember times when people supplied my daily needs when I had very little.  They never wanted any thanks.  They just gave.  These memories are forever stamped on my mind.  I can actually imagine the day like it was yesterday.  These are what I call precious memories.  Memories that we should be thankful for.

The Word of God talks about this in Psalm 103:1-2.  It says, “Bless the Lord, O my soul; And all that is within me, bless His holy name! Bless the Lord, O my soul, And forget not all His benefits.” 

Sometimes we are not very good at remembering all that God has done in our lives.  We allow the world and being “busy” to take over our thoughts. We let the “precious memories” of God slip through our toothless steel trap.  We need to remind ourselves, like David did, to “bless the Lord and forget not His benefits.”

When I think of benefits in a worldly sense, it’s usually things we think belong to us.  We somehow feel we deserve these benefits because of something we have done, or because we are so wise and knowledgeable.  Our pride says that “you owe me”.

But David uses the word benefits to praise God for all the things He has done.  He blesses the Lord with his praise.  Bless is defined in this case as: “to kneel with the idea of adoration and praise.”  We’re sure good at telling the Lord what we expect Him to give us and do for us.  We need a good dose of Psalm 103 to wash out our complaining spirit and replace it with a heart of gratitude to the Lord.

When David says to “forget not all His benefits”, he is asking us to think about the Lord.  There’s a song written that says this:

When I Think about the Lord,
How He saved me, how He raised me,
How He filled me, with the Holy Ghost.
How He healed me, to the uttermost.

 When I Think about the Lord,
How He picked me up and turned me around,
How He placed my feet on solid ground

 It makes me wanna shout,
Hallelujah,
Thank you JESUS,
LORD, your worthy, of all the glory, and all the honor,
And all the praise. 

This song entitled, “When I Think About the Lord”, speaks of the “benefits” that the Lord has given to us.  When we take the time to ponder on these, and all the things the Lord has done, we seem very small.  But that’s a good thing because then we can place the Lord in the position of Wonderful, Counselor, Prince of Peace, Almighty God.  The place of honor due His name! If you would like to hear a very powerful message from Pastor Aaron Taylor on “Blessings the Soul Forgets”, click on this link to our podcast: http://painesvilleag.com/the-blessings-the-soul-forgets

Friend, I pray that you will remember the great and mighty things the Lord has done for you.  That you will ponder on them and praise Him for all His “benefits”.  What will be the result of your praising the Lord?  A closer and more intimate walk with Him.  Glory to God!

George Leonhardt,
Writer/Blogger

Leave a Reply

