“But I Just Don’t Have Time…”

Standard

If any of you are like me, you’ve watched enough Law & Order, or other crime shows, to have this line memorized:

“You have the right to remain silent and to refuse to answer questions. Anything you say may be used against you in a court of law. You have the right to consult an attorney before speaking to the police and to have an attorney present during questioning now or in the future. If you cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed for you before any questioning if you wish. If you decide to answer questions now without an attorney present, you will still have the right to stop answering at any time until you talk to an attorney.”

Once this is said, the criminal then has a choice to make. Does he speak without an attorney? Does he ask for an attorney? What if he starts talking and realizes he really does want to wait for an attorney? Clearly, the criminal made a choice to get in the position of being arrested in the first place.

That’s the thing though, life is filled with SO many choices to make. Some harder than others. Some should be pretty simple but end up being the hardest decisions of the day. Should I wear a t-shirt and flannel with jeans, or should I wear a nice cardigan with a dress? Should I have coffee or tea? Definitely coffee- okay, so do I get the iced caramel macchiato with a non-fat almond milk, an extra pump of caramel, and an added shot of espresso, or the seasonal special?

Lately, my biggest question is: do I eat dinner, work out, and then do my homework? Or skip dinner, read at the gym, and fit in a nap? OR on a really busy week, do I do homework at dinner, skip the gym, and lock myself in my dorm room to do homework?

There. Are. So. Many. Choices.

And then you get past your average, everyday choices, and move to the bigger ones: do I go to this Life Group or that Life Group? Do I buy a new car or not? Do I take the leap from renting to owning a home? Do I take on the responsibility of being PTA President of my kid’s school? Do I get married or stay single? Is this the right person for me to be in a relationship with? Do I volunteer to do more things at Church? The list of choices is endless!

These things can be life-altering. If you’re me, you’re contemplating: do I go to grad school right after I get my bachelors, or do I wait a year?

These are major choices that we have to make. Choices that are everywhere, every moment. We live in America, a free country – a country where you are privileged to make choices within that given freedom.

You see, when we are faced with making a decision, even if we feel like the answer is obvious and clear, or we are just so passionate about it that there is no doubt (in our mind), we have to be careful of the affect those choices will have on us mentally, emotionally, physically, and yes, even spiritually.

As humans, we can easily get burned out. We can easily say yes to a good thing one too many times. It is so easy in the moment to agree to take on “one more” task, another “to-do” for our calendar, and another hour or so here or there.

I struggle with this.

I have a problem with saying “NO”. I have an issue with choosing what is really my top priority. I find myself every few months feeling burned out and re-evaluating my commitments. Wanting to be involved in good things isn’t a bad thing, it’s when I focus too much on the good things and not the God-things that they now become bad things.

Did you know that we have a choice in what we make time for? Pastor Aaron on Sunday morning mentioned the idea of having a 30-hour day. Immediately I thought, Oh just think of all I could get done! And then he proceeded to bring to reality that even within a 30-hour day I would still have this same dilemma. This same problem of just not having enough time because I am faced with so many good choices that I fill my schedule too full no matter how many hours I’ve been given.

Pastor Aaron said this on Sunday morning also: “I actually have time for what I CHOOSE to have time for”.

Mind blown, game changed. When we prioritize what we want to have time for, we can actually find the time to do it. Woah. Drop the mic. Walk away. Jesus paid it all.

Church, what we need to do is prioritize. If what you want is more time with Jesus, then make time for it. If God is telling you to do something and you just keep pushing it aside because you don’t have time for it, get rid of something else and make time!

Church, we are faced with so many choices that we feel forced to make, but we have to remember that we have the power to CHOOSE what goes into our schedule and what makes top priority in our lives. Only we can do that! No one else can do that for us. We have the power to CHOOSE what God has placed before us and CHOOSE what is important to Him.

Pastor Aaron shares with us in the closing of his sermon series “I Choose” that we need to choose what is important over what is urgent. He shares that we need to CHOOSE to put Jesus first and watch Him multiply our time. He shares with us three practical ways to choosing what is important in our lives instead of always reacting to what is urgent. Check out this week’s podcast http://painesvilleag.com/i-choose to hear more about how you can practically CHOOSE to make time for the things you actually want to do and not feel burned out by taking on what you shouldn’t.

Jenny Bushnell,
Writer, Blogger, College Student

Leave a Reply

