Partnering with the One

Standard

Back in the late 1990s, I needed to earn some extra income on a part-time basis, but I wanted my hours to be flexible.  I desired to be able to set my own hours and work as little or as much as I wanted.  I became a Licensed Realtor®.  I didn’t quite know how to go about it, but thought that this would be a good way to earn money and meet new people.

The process to be licensed as a realtor is actually pretty easy.  You find a broker who will sponsor you and then you take the necessary classes to be able to pass the state exam.  Fast forward to the end, I passed the state exam and became a realtor.  As I said, the process is easy.  Once you pass the exam, reality sets in and you’re now going to have to put the education to work.  I needed to list and sell houses or find houses for others to buy.

Sold Sign.jpg

Let me just say, there are A LOT of realtors.  The numbers were staggering and we were all after the same prospects and clients.  How does a realtor make themselves different from everyone else?  How was I going to set myself apart? I didn’t have a clue or a plan!  But, I did have ears and eyes so I listened and watched.  To make this story shorter, I found that a lot of the realtors engaged in small partnerships.  These partnerships allowed the realtors to expand their impact on the market and allowed the individual realtor to work using his or her particular strength.  Thus was created “The Georges of the North Coast”.  Yes, that was our team name.  We marketed our own names as well.  I was “King George” and “Buy George” was my good friend and partner.  When we worked together, great things happened in our business.

Real Estate Image 1.jpg

Like my partnership with George, our relationship with Jesus Christ is empowered by our partnership with the Holy Spirit.  Upon our acceptance of Jesus as the Lord of our life, the Holy Spirit comes into us and makes us spiritually alive.  We become Born Again.  Reborn spiritually.  The power of the Holy Spirit is released as we respond to Him.

Our partnership as “The Georges of the Northcoast” was most effective when we responded together towards a singular goal.  Likewise, when we act with the Holy Spirit in faith, something really powerful happens. The Holy Spirit moves upon us and we act with Him.  My relationship with the “Other” George was sometimes pressure filled.  We both had to perform at our best. The Good News? Our relationship with the Holy Spirit is not so much about the pressure to perform.  Actually, it’s not about that at all.  Rather it is about partnership.  My partnership with the Holy Spirit can be defined as “my desire to listen and hear the Holy Spirit and His wisdom for my life as He guides me”. His desire is to enable me to live a Godly life.  It’s the ultimate partnership.  When we act in faith with the Holy Spirit something incredible and powerful happens every time.  But there was more that I desired from God.  I wanted to be used by Him to reach a world for Jesus.

When I was a realtor, I had to rely on my education and the knowledge of the State Real Estate laws.  I was on my own.  I made mistakes. Actually, I made a lot of mistakes.  Some of those mistakes cost me income and were painful to swallow.  In the real estate business it’s all about image.  You don’t want a reputation of making mistakes following you around.  In my life with Christ, the Holy Spirit empowers me to get through the tough times but also He gives me wisdom and understanding to make better choices.  He works with me and is always there. I’m never alone. I don’t want to live a life outside of the Holy Spirit.  I desire to live out of the overflow of His power.

I need His power to witness to a world that needs to know that Jesus was tortured in our place, that He hung on a cross for our sins, died, and rose from the dead.  Jesus defeated death and sin and is alive forevermore working through His Holy Spirit to enable me to tell the world this amazing hope!

Walking In Step With the Holy Spirit.jpg

Friend, I had a very important real estate partnership and “The Georges of the Northcoast” were a successful team.  But that team partnership ended after many years.  We went our separate ways. Now? Now my life is enabled and empowered by the Holy Spirit to live a life in Christ and to proclaim to the world that Jesus Saves.

Below is a link to a powerful and high-impact message from Pastor Aaron Taylor entitled, The Power For Life – It’s About Partnership.  Click on the link and learn about the most powerful partnership you can have.  http://painesvilleag.com/power-for-life  It’s definitely a partnership that will impact and change your life forever!  Activate the power of the Holy Spirit in your life today.

God bless and have a powerful rest of the week!

George Leonhardt,
Blogger

Leave a Reply

