The Rhythms of Journeying With God

Standard

Life is a challenge.  I think everyone would agree.  The times we live in are ever-changing.  There are things happening in the world that sometimes shock and amaze me.  I read the news via electronic means (no more newspapers) and find something new or outrageous every time I log in.  I don’t necessarily think that is weird.  It’s just the time of the season. The one thing that fascinates me the most is how we get from point A to point B.

Movement and travel from place to place has gotten pretty easy nowadays.  And it seems everyone is in a hurry.  Got to go, now!  I don’t have time to talk to you.  I have to go!  I’ll meet with you later and we can talk.  Ask my assistant to make an appointment for you.  I’m sorry, but that time won’t work.  Can you make it tomorrow?  I’ll have more time then.  I have a meeting to attend and I can’t reschedule.  Life goes on and on and on and on.  Where is there time to stop and take a breath?  Shouldn’t there be times of rest?  Maybe there isn’t time to rest.  Is that normal?  Is that the standard?  I hope not. And Scripturally, we know it’s not.

I find myself choosing not to sleep at night.  Why?  It’s not because I have insomnia or a sleep disorder.  Wait… I do wear a C-PAP mask.  It’s very attractive, just ask my wife.  Seriously though, my time to take a breath at the end of the day is when everyone else is sleeping.  Now, you might say that this sounds ridiculous.  If it’s the only time I have to desensitize myself from the world, why not just put on the mask, settle down, close my eyes, and go to  sleep.  It’s because this is my time to spend talking to  God.  Don’t read into this.  I talk to God all day.  He is on my mind all day.  I talk to Him while I’m walking, driving, sitting at a table.  I talk to Him while watching television.  We just talk.  I even at one point had an old chair on my front porch and that’s where I would go to chat with God.  The chair finally broke and had to be sent to the trash, but I think you get my point. Me and God? We’re in constant conversation.

So, why do I say that ‘at the end of the day I spend time with God instead of sleeping?’  Because as a prayer intercessor, I feel His presence over me.  In the darkness of the room, I see His light.  I feel His touch.  I hear His voice.  That’s my life as an intercessor.  It may not be something that you would do, but this is my life.  I do this every night.  Without fail, I lay in bed and begin to meet with God.  It’s funny.  Just ask some of my friends who get a text message from me after midnight asking them if they are ok.  That’s because I felt the Lord tell me to pray for them.  It’s amazing how God works and my friends tell me that they were really struggling with something and wanted someone to just listen to them.  That time is the most precious to me.

Recently, I have been feeling God leading me into a deeper understanding of intercession along with the deep levels of praying and travailing before God.  I even sense a feeling that God is leading me into a greater understanding of His Throne Room where I can boldly come to Him in my times of need. (Hebrews 14:6)

So you may ask, “What is intercession?”  Well, briefly, it’s ‘a relational time spent in prayer with God seeking His response to prayer for another person’.  Yes, it’s relational.  Prayer is worship and is completely relational.  Jesus demonstrated this clearly in John Chapter 17.  This is where Jesus prays at Gethsemane.  Jesus prays for Himself, but also prays for His disciples and for all believers.  He intercedes.  He fully knew what was ahead of Him.  He knew of the torment and torture He would face.  He knew the Cross awaited Him.  He knew, yet He set aside His needs to intercede for others.  That my friend, is intercession at its deepest level.

That’s what I’m hearing from the Lord.  God gave me a dream the other night of me on a bus.  The bus would stop and go and stop and go.  Over and over again.  The bus was filled with people from the world and from all different backgrounds.  They were waiting to get off the bus at their particular stop.  Finally, God told me to get off the bus.  He said: “Look for the sign with your name on it.  When you find the sign, you’ll find me.”  So I got off the bus and the Lord said to me, “Follow me.”

Friends, my life calling is to pray.  Do I get tired of carrying the loads and circumstances of others so that I can effectually pray?  Sure I do.  But God says this.  “Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.”  (James  5:16)  I’ve decided to take the narrow road into deeper levels of prayer with God.  I don’t know what I will encounter.  I don’t know what the enemy will do to try and stop me… But what I do know is, I must go.  I must go into the deep, deep, realm of prayer.  Isaiah said this,  Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying: “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.” (Isaiah 6:8)  I am crying out to God the same answer.  Send me.

If you have a calling for the ministry of prayer, I implore you friend to go deeper.  Go to where it’s only you and God.  Hear His voice and move in obedience.  Your life will never be the same… I’m living proof.

George Leonhardt

Leave a Reply

